CGS Bonn
Uni Bonn
Back to Overview

Staff

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge

Personal Details

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge
Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge

Short Information

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge, born on June 2, 1988, in Göttingen, is Managing Assistant and Research Fellow at the Center for Global Studies/Chair in International Relations at the University of Bonn.

In his undergraduate and graduate studies, Dr. Ohnesorge took courses in International Relations, history, philosophy, and international law. He holds a bachelor’s degree in “Politics and Law” (2010) from the University of Münster (2010) and a master’s degree in “German, European, and Global Politics” from the University of Bonn, from which he graduated with honors with a thesis on John F. Kennedy (2013). In 2011/12, Dr. Ohnesorge studied abroad in the United Kingdom at the University of Southampton. He held guest lectureships at Leiden University (2016) and the University of St Andrews (2019). In 2017, on a scholarship by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), he was visiting scholar at the University of California, Berkeley. In March 2019, Dr. Ohnesorge completed his doctorate summa cum laudeat the University of Bonn. At the faculty of arts, he was valedictorian for the class of 2018/2019.

In the context of the systematical investigation of the phenomenon of power and contemporary power shifts in international relations conducted at the Center for Global Studies, Dr. Ohnesorge focuses on the understanding and role of soft power in international affairs. In his latest book, published with Springer International and based on his doctoral thesis, he explores the forces of attraction in international relations – both past and present. In this context, he puts forth a comprehensive and innovative theoretical-conceptual taxonomy of soft power as well as a methodological roadmap for the empirical study of its workings in international politics. Additionally, in his research and teaching, Dr. Ohnesorge focuses on the history and foreign relations as well as the presidency of the United States of America. Within this context, he is specifically interested in transatlantic relations. Finally, Dr. Ohnesorge is exploring the influence of individual decision-makers on international politics (“Personality and Politics”).

His habilitation treatise is at the intersection of these topics as it focuses on the significance of soft power, including personal diplomacy and charismatic leadership, within German-American relations.

He is regularly invited to give keynotes and guest lectures, participate in panel discussions, or moderate events on these topics.

For his excellence in teaching, he was awarded the University of Bonn’s Teaching Award in the academic year 2017/2018.

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge is managing editor of the publication series Global Power Shift(Springer International) as well as founder and co-editor of the forthcoming series Persönlichkeit und weltpolitische Gestaltung, (SpringerVS).

Curriculum Vitae

Download Curriculum Vitae

Contact Data

Department for Political Sciences and Sociology

Center for Global Studies
Genscherallee 3, Room 3.060
53113 Bonn, Germany

Phone: +49 228 73 60281Fax: +49 228 73 60273

Email: ohnesorge@uni-bonn.de

Office Hours

In der vorlesungsfreien Zeit findet die Sprechstunde nur nach Vereinbarung statt.

Latest Publications

  • Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.: “A Fatal Neglect: On the Significance of U.S. Soft Power Today”, International Security Forum Bonn 2019, p. 72f.
  • Ohnesorge, Hendrik W. und Christiane Heidbrink: „Greatly Exaggerated: China’s Rise and America’s Decline in the Light of the Bonn Power Shift Monitor“, International Security Forum Bonn 2019, p. 22f.
  • Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.: Soft Power: The Forces of Attraction in International Relations. Cham u.a.: Springer International, 2020.
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): Geopolitics and the Global Race for 5G. In: CGS Global Focus, http://cgs-bonn.de/5G-Study-2019.pdf
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): International Competition for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). In: CGS Global Focus, https://www.cgs-bonn.de/cms/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/GNSS-Study-1.pdf
  • Show all related publications

Latest Events

Classes

Last update: 27/04/2020

CGS Bonn
Uni Bonn
Zurück zur Übersicht

Personal

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge

Zur Person

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge
Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge

Kurzinformationen

Herr Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge, geboren am 2. Juni 1988 in Göttingen, ist Geschäftsführender Assistent und Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Center for Global Studies/Lehrstuhl für Internationale Beziehungender Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. Während seines Studiums hörte Herr Ohnesorge v.a. Internationale Beziehungen, Geschichte, Philosophie und Völkerrecht. Er hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in „Politik und Recht“ der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster (2010) sowie einen Master-Abschluss in „Deutsche, Europäische und Globale Politik“ der Universität Bonn (2013). Im Jahr 2011/12 verbrachte Herr Ohnesorge ein Auslandssemester an der University of Southampton. Herr Ohnesorge hatte im Rahmen der ERASMUS-Programms Gastdozenturen an der Universiteit Leiden (2016) und St Andrews (2019) inne. Unterstützt durch ein Stipendium des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) verbrachte Herr Ohnesorge im Sommer und Herbst 2017 einen Forschungsaufenthalt an der University of California, Berkeley. Im März 2019 schloss er seine Promotion zum Thema Soft Power mit summa cum laude ab und war daraufhin Abschlussredner der Philosophischen Fakultät für den Jahrgang 2018/19.

In Forschung und Lehre konzentriert sich Herr Ohnesorge insbesondere auf die Geschichte und Außenpolitik sowie die Präsidentschaft der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika. In diesem Zusammenhang arbeitet er insbesondere zu U.S.-amerikanischer Weltordnungspolitik sowie den deutsch-amerikanischen Beziehungen. Im Rahmen der systematischen Erforschung von Macht und internationalen Machtverschiebungen am Center for Global Studiesbeschäftigt sich Herr Ohnesorge besonders mit dem Phänomen von Soft Power. In seinem jüngsten Buch „Soft Power: The Forces of Attraction in International Relations“ (Springer International), basierend auf seiner Doktorarbeit, entwickelt er eine umfassende theoretische Konzeption von Soft Power sowie methodische Zugänge für empirische Untersuchungen ihrer Wirkungsweise in der internationalen Politik. Schließlich stellt die Erforschung des Einflusses von politischen Entscheidungsträgern auf weltpolitische Gestaltung einen weiteren Forschungsschwerpunkt von Herrn Ohnesorge dar („Persönlichkeit und Politik“).

In seiner derzeit angefertigten Habilitationsschrift verbindet Herr Ohnesorge diese Inhalte und untersucht die Bedeutung von Soft Power in den deutsch-amerikanischen Beziehungen. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird dabei auf die Rolle von persönlicher Diplomatie („personal diplomacy“) sowie charismatischer Führung gelegt.

Herr Ohnesorge wird als Gastredner regelmäßig zu Vorträgen und Diskussionsrunden eingeladen oder moderiert Veranstaltungen zu diesen Themen.

Im Akademischen Jahr 2017/2018 wurde Herr Ohnesorge aufgrund außerordentlicher Verdienste in der Lehre mit dem Lehrpreis der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität ausgezeichnet.

Dr. Hendrik W. Ohnesorge ist Managing Editor der Schriftenreihe  Global Power Shift (Springer International) sowie Begründer und Co-Herausgeber der in Kürze erscheinenden Schriftenreihe Persönlichkeit und weltpolitische Gestaltung (SpringerVS).

Lebenslauf

Lebenslauf herunterladen

Kontakt

Institut für Politische Wissenschaft und Soziologie
Center for Global Studies
Genscherallee 3, Raum 3.060
53113 Bonn

Telefon: +49 228 73 60281Telefax: +49 228 73 60273

E-Mail: ohnesorge@uni-bonn.de

Sprechstunde

Wintersemester 2018/19: Mittwoch, 14:00 bis 15:30 Uhr. Um vorherige Anmeldung wird gebeten!

Letzte Publikationen

  • Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.: Soft Power: The Forces of Attraction in International Relations. Cham u.a.: Springer International, 2020.
  • Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.: „A Fatal Neglect: On the Significance of U.S. Soft Power Today“, International Security Forum Bonn 2019, p. 72f.
  • Ohnesorge, Hendrik W. und Christiane Heidbrink: „Greatly Exaggerated: China’s Rise and America’s Decline in the Light of the Bonn Power Shift Monitor“, International Security Forum Bonn 2019, p. 22f.
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): Geopolitics and the Global Race for 5G. In: CGS Global Focus, http://cgs-bonn.de/5G-Study-2019.pdf
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): International Competition for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). In: CGS Global Focus, https://www.cgs-bonn.de/cms/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/GNSS-Study-1.pdf
  • Alle zugehörigen Publikationen anzeigen

Letzte Veranstaltungen

Lehrveranstaltungen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 27. April 2020