CGS Bonn
Uni Bonn
Back to Overview

Staff

Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek), M.A.

Personal Details

Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek), M.A.
Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek), M.A.

Short Information

Since January 2018 Christiane Heidbrink (born Suchanek) has been a Research Fellow at the Center for Global Studies (CGS) of the University of Bonn. She holds a Bachelor of Science in European Public Administration from the Dutch Twente University and a Bachelor of Arts in Public Administration from the University of Münster. She obtained her B.A. in Public Administration (Special Emphasis: European Studies) in 2015 and her M.A. in Political Science in 2017 with a Master’s thesis on the evaluation of State-Building measures in Afghanistan. The thesis “Digging into Chaos: Security Sector Reconstruction and State-Building in Afghanistan”, published by Tectum-Verlag, focuses in particular on efforts to build up the police and the military.

Currently, Mrs. Heidbrink is the project manager at the Bonn Power Shift Monitor (BPSM) research project, which examines the changes in international power structures after the turn of the millennium. Since January 2019, she has also been responsible for editing the Bonn Power Focus. In addition, as part of her doctoral project, she is researching the changes in (inter)national security discourses in times of the Belt and Road Initiative. Her teaching activities at the University of Bonn combine the various aspects of her academic career, including teaching on global power shifts, security policies and state-building measures.

Main research areas: International relations, global power shift, qualitative and quantitative power models, state building, security research, security sector reform, state transformation, transnational governance processes.

Contact Data

Department for Political Sciences and Sociology
Center for Global Studies
Genscherallee 3, Room 3.062
53113 Bonn, Germany

Phone: +49 228 73 60278Fax: +49 228 73 60273

Email: heidbrink@uni-bonn.de

Office Hours

 

 

Latest Publications

  • Suchanek, Christiane & Trautwein, Sebastian (2019): Wo steht Deutschland? 5G-Netzaufbau. In: Bonn Power Focus, 2019/1, https://www.cgs-bonn.de/cms/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/BPF-2019-1-de.pdf
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): Geopolitics and the Global Race for 5G. In: CGS Global Focus, http://cgs-bonn.de/5G-Study-2019.pdf
  • Suchanek, Christiane. 2018. Digging into Chaos. Security Sector Reconstruction and State-Building in Afghanistan. Tectum – ein Verlag in der Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft, Baden-Baden.
  • Suchanek, Christiane. 2018. Fluchtursachenbekämpfung. Konzepte, Wahrnehmungen und Realitäten – Ein Begriff macht Karriere. In: Transit, Flucht, Asyl. Edited by Ursula Bitzegeio / Frank Decker / Sandra Fischer / Thorsten Stolzenberg, 111-132.
  • Center for Global Studies (CGS): Bonn Power Shift Monitor: Global Power Shift Report 2005-2015. https://www.cgs-bonn.de/cms/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/CGS_BPSM-Report_05_15.pdf
  • Show all related publications

Latest Events

Classes

Last update: 23/07/2019

CGS Bonn
Uni Bonn
Zurück zur Übersicht

Personal

Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek), M.A.

Zur Person

Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek), M.A.
Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek), M.A.

Kurzinformationen

Seit Januar 2018 ist Christiane Heidbrink (geb. Suchanek) Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Center for Global Studies (CGS) der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. Sie hält einen Bachelor of Science in European Public Administration der niederländischen Twente Universität und einen Bachelor of Arts in Public Administration der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Diese erwarb sie durch den erfolgreichen Abschluss des binationalen Kooperationsstudienganges Public Administration (Special Emphasis: European Studies) im Jahr 2015. Ihren Master of Arts in Politikwissenschaft erwarb Frau Heidbrink im Jahr 2017 mit einer Masterthesis zur Evaluierung der State-Building Maßnahmen in Afghanistan. Die beim Tectum-Verlag veröffentlichte Arbeit unter dem Titel „Digging into Chaos: Security Sector Reconstruction and State-Building in Afghanistan“ nimmt besonders die Bemühungen zum Aufbau der Polizei und des Militärs in den Blick.

Aktuell arbeitet Frau Heidbrink als leitende Forscherin am Bonn Power Shift Monitor (BPSM) Forschungsprojekt, welches die Veränderung der internationalen Machtstrukturen nach der Jahrtausendwende untersucht. Seit Januar 2019 ist sie zudem für die Redaktion des Bonn Power Focus und der CGS Student Papers verantwortlich. Im Rahmen ihres Promotionsprojektes erforscht sie zudem die Securitization der chinesischen Belt and Road Initiative. Ihre Lehrtätigkeiten an der Universität Bonn verbinden die verschiedenen Aspekte ihres akademischen Werdeganges, so lehrt Frau Heidbrink unter anderem zu globalen Machtverschiebungen, Sicherheitspolitiken und State-Building Maßnahmen.

Forschungsschwerpunkte: Internationale Beziehungen, Global Power Shift, Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), Qualitative und Quantitative Machtmodelle, State-Building, Sicherheitsforschung, Sicherheitssektorreform, staatliche Transformation.

Kontakt

Institut für Politische Wissenschaft und Soziologie
Center for Global Studies
Genscherallee 3, Raum 3.062
53113 Bonn

Telefon: +49 228 73 60278Telefax: +49 228 73 60273

E-Mail: heidbrink@uni-bonn.de

Sprechstunde

SoSe2022: Dienstag 9-13 Uhr (um vorherige Anmeldung wird gebeten).

Letzte Publikationen

  • Heidbrink, Christiane (2022): „Scholz’s €100 billion surprise: a paradigm shift in Germany’s security policy?“ in: 9Dashline.com, März 2022. https://www.9dashline.com/article/scholzs-100-billion-surprise-a-paradigm-shift-in-germanys-security-policy.
  • Heidbrink, Christiane (2021): „Europa weiter stärken – Bilanz der deutschen Ratspräsidentschaft“ in: Europäische Sicherheit & Technik, Januar 2021.
  • Heidbrink, Christiane (2021): „Clouds on the Horizon: Sino-German Relations and the Bundestag election“ in: 9Dashline.com, September 2021. https://www.9dashline.com/article/clouds-on-the-horizon-sino-german-relations-and-the-bundestag-election
  • Heidbrink, Christiane; Nock, Philip J. (2021): „Der US-Iran-Konflikt und die fehlenden Gesichter der Macht“ in: Österreichische Zeitschrift für Politikwissenschaft 50(3): 1. DOI: 10.15203/ozp.3433.vol50iss3.
  • Heidbrink, Christiane (2020): „Harte Zeiten für Hard Power?“, in: Europäische Sicherheit & Technik, Juli 2020.
  • Alle zugehörigen Publikationen anzeigen

Letzte Veranstaltungen

Lehrveranstaltungen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 3. Mai 2022