CGS Bonn
Uni Bonn
Back to Overview

Staff

Philip Nock, M.A.

Personal Details

Philip Nock, M.A.
Philip Nock, M.A.

Short Information

Since March 2019, Philip J. Nock is since Research Assistant at the Center for Global Studies/Chair for International Relations at the University of Bonn (Germany). In his undergraduate and graduate studies, Mr. Nock read International Relations, History, Sociology, and European Studies. He holds a bachelor degree in "History, Politics, and Society" and completed his master's degree in "Political Sciences" in July 2019 at the same place. In his master thesis, he formulated a conceptual critique of Thucydides' Trap and thus, delved into causes of hegemonial challenges. Mr. Nock spent two semesters abroad: in 2014/15, at the University of St Andrews, United Kingdom, and in 2017/18 at York University in Toronto, Canada. Moreover, he held a scholarship from the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation and gained practical experience through internships in the German Bundestag, the European Office in Brussels of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, the German Atlantic Treaty Association, the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP) and the Center for Advanced Security, Strategic and Integration Studies (CASSIS) in Bonn.

Curriculum Vitae

Download Curriculum Vitae

Latest Publications

  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): Geopolitics and the Global Race for 5G. In: CGS Global Focus, http://cgs-bonn.de/5G-Study-2019.pdf
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): International Competition for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). In: CGS Global Focus, https://www.cgs-bonn.de/cms/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/GNSS-Study-1.pdf
  • Show all related publications

Latest Events

Last update: 14/11/2019

CGS Bonn
Uni Bonn
Zurück zur Übersicht

Personal

Philip Nock, M.A.

Zur Person

Philip Nock, M.A.
Philip Nock, M.A.

Kurzinformationen

Philip J. Nock ist seit März 2019 Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft am Center for Global Studies/Lehrstuhl für Internationale Beziehungen der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. Während seines Studiums hörte er Internationale Beziehungen, Geschichte, Soziologie sowie Europastudien. Er hat sowohl seinen Bachelor in „Geschichte, Politik und Gesellschaft“ (2016) als auch seinen Master in „Politikwissenschaften“ (2019) an der Universität Bonn abgeschlossen. In seiner Masterarbeit formulierte er eine konzeptionelle Kritik an der Thukydides-Falle und untersuchte somit strukturelle Ursachen für hegemoniale  Herausforderungen. Im akademischen Jahr 2014/15 verbrachte Herr Nock ein Auslandssemester an der University of St Andrews, Vereinigtes Königreich, sowie das Wintersemester 2017/18 an der York University in Toronto, Kanada. Während seines Studiums war er Stipendiat der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und sammelte darüber hinaus durch Praktika im Bundestag, im Europabüro Brüssel der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, der Deutschen Atlantischen Gesellschaft, der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik und beim Center for Advanced Security, Strategic and Integration Studies (CASSIS) Erfahrung in der politischen Praxis.

Lebenslauf

Lebenslauf herunterladen

Letzte Publikationen

  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): Geopolitics and the Global Race for 5G. In: CGS Global Focus, http://cgs-bonn.de/5G-Study-2019.pdf
  • Gu, Xuewu; Heidbrink, Christiane; Huang, Ying; Nock, Philip; Ohnesorge, Hendrik W.; Pustovitovskij, Andrej (2019): International Competition for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). In: CGS Global Focus, https://www.cgs-bonn.de/cms/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/GNSS-Study-1.pdf
  • Alle zugehörigen Publikationen anzeigen

Letzte Veranstaltungen

Letzte Aktualisierung: 14. November 2019